As part of IEEE VIS’s ongoing unification effort, starting in 2021 some positions on both the VIS Executive Committee (VEC) and VIS Steering Committee (VSC) will be directly elected by the VIS community. These elections give the community a voice in governance, allow community members to grow into positions of authority, and will hopefully ensure a diverse representation across all of VIS. For more details about the elections process, see the IEEE VIS Charter.

Register to Vote (Closed for 2021)

Members of the VIS community who have participated in the conference in 3 of the last 5 years (current year included) can register to vote in this year’s election by completing the VIS voter registration form. The email address you provide will be used to communicate elections instructions as the conference nears. The email address you provide will be used to communicate elections instructions as the conference nears. As of September 10th, voter registration for 2021 is now closed. Sign up here to be notified when registration for the 2022 election opens. (Members who registered to vote in 2021 will be automatically notified.)

Participating in the Election

The 2021 Election will run from September 17th-October 17th, with results announced at the conference. The VIS Elections chairs will conduct the election using the Belenios verifiable open-source voting system. Voting will be conducted using a ranked-choice process.

All registered voters will receive instructions outlining the voting procedure via email before the start of the voting period. Voters will then receive an email from Belenios containing a unique credential (generated by Belenios) and a link to the voting page. The election will use a ranked-choice model in which voters rank candidate(s) and the Condorcet-Schulze method is used to determine winners. In the extremely unlikely event of a tie, the Elections chairs will organize a follow-up runoff election to be completed no more than four weeks later and including only the tied candidates.

2021 Candidates

Please visit the VSC Candidates and VEC Candidates pages for bios and campaign statements from all candidates running in this year’s election.


Questions about the elections process can be directed to the VIS Elections Chairs at elections@ieeevis.org.

VIS Elections Chairs

  • Bettina Speckmann (TU Eindhoven)
  • Emily Wall (Emory University)
  • Wesley Willett (University of Calgary)