IEEE VIS 2019 Inclusivity & Diversity Scholarship

IEEE VIS welcomes and encourages participation by people of all backgrounds and identities. We are committed to fostering and sustaining an environment of respect and inclusivity. To increase participation by underrepresented or historically marginalized groups, IEEE VIS is offering need-based scholarships for conference attendance. We invite you to submit your application through our online portal (application open in early summer).

Eligible applicants are from underrepresented and/or marginalized groups including but not limited to: gender, identity, race, ethnicity, disabilities, discipline. Applicants must be aged 18 years or older. Preference will be given to applicants with a demonstrated financial need (e.g., undergraduate students that are not currently funded for visualization research) and applicants who are new to the visualization research community.

The VIS 2019 Inclusivity & Diversity Scholarship Committee will review applications based on eligibility, need, and impact. Scholarships awarded will include:

  • Complimentary conference registration.
  • On average, based on need, $1000 per recipient will be provided for travel and subsistence. These funds may not cover all costs, but are intended to fill in costs for recipients that might not otherwise be able to attend the conference. Funds can be used to help support travel, lodging, and childcare. Recipients will need to keep original travel tickets, expense receipts and evidence of payment up to the subscribed limits for reimbursement once the conference is over.
  • An assigned a mentor to guide receipients through the conference experience.
  • A social event including the recipients and mentors to be held at VIS 2019.

Application and Timeline:

  • Applications form
  • Deadline: June 30, 2019 July 8, 2019
  • Notifications Sent: August 1, 2019

Inclusivity & Diversity Scholarship Committee

  • Michelle Borkin (Northeastern University, Co-Chair)
  • Kelly Gaither (University of Texas at Austin, Co-Chair)
  • Arvind Satyanarayan (MIT, Co-Chair)
  • Christopher Collins (Ontario Tech University)
  • Alexander Lex (University of Utah)
  • Ronald Metoyer (University of Notre Dame)
  • Alvitta Ottley (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Meg Pirrung (PNNL)
  • Kristi Potter (NREL)
  • Diane Staheli (MIT Lincoln Labs)


Please contact with any questions about the Inclusivity & Diversity Scholarship Program and Inclusivity & Diversity at IEEE VIS.

Support Inclusivity & Diversity

If you are interested in supporting the Inclusivity & Diversity Scholarship Program and Inclusivity & Diversity at VIS, please contact