Short Papers Call for Participation

IEEE Vis 2019 solicits submissions in a short paper format. Short papers draw from the same paper types and topics as full papers of VAST, Infovis and Scivis, ranging from theoretical to applied research contributions.

Short papers welcome submissions describing original work with focused and concise research contributions, incremental work such as follow-up extensions or evaluations of existing methods, or exploratory work. We provide example papers below.

The short paper submission deadline is June 13, 2019, creating an opportunity to showcase late-breaking research results. This deadline is one week after the June 6 notification for conditional acceptance of full papers, enabling the distillation and focused expression of work that otherwise might not be part of VIS.

Submission Guidelines:

Short papers can be up to four pages plus up to one page of references. Submissions will be in the VGTC conference two-column format, in line with the IEEE VIS formatting guidelines. Short papers may be single-blind or double-blind - reviewers’ identities are not revealed. Authors may choose whether to anonymize their submission or not.

Short papers must be submitted through the Precision Conference System.

Example Papers:

Publication Details:

Accepted short papers will be presented at the VIS conference. They will also be included on the conference proceedings and published in IEEE Xplore with a proper DOI number.

Authors of accepted short papers may subsequently submit to TVCG (the journal, not to the VIS conference) a full paper on the same topic, consistent with the TVCG standard of asking for “more than 30 percent new material and insights” compared to work that has previously been presented at a conference.

Important Dates:

  • Submission Deadline: June 13, 2019
  • Notification: July 18, 2019
  • Submission of Camera-Ready Final Version: August 1, 2019

All deadlines are at 5:00pm Pacific Time (PDT).

Program Committee:

Greg Abram Texas Advanced Computing Center, USA
David Auber Université de Bordeaux, France
Michael Behrisch Harvard University, USA
Matthew Berger Vanderbilt University, USA
Anne Berres Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Lonni Besancon Université Paris Sud, France
Johanna Beyer Harvard University, USA
Peer-Timo Bremer Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Ayan Biswas Los Alamos National Lab, USA
Tanja Blascheck Inria, France
Chris Bryan Arizona State University, USA
Jian Chen Ohio State University, USA
Siming Chen Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
Shenghui Cheng Shenzhen Research Institute of Big Data, China
Isaac Cho University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
Jaegul Choo Korea University, South Korea
Weiwei Cui Microsoft Research Asia, China
Paolo Ciuccarelli Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Joseph A. Cottam Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
Evanthia Dimara Sorbonne Université, France
Fan Du Adobe Research, USA
Soumya Dutta Los Alamos National Lab, USA
Shamal Dohuki University of Duhok, Iraq
James Eagan Télécom Paritech, France
Geoffrey Ellis University of Konstanz, Germany
Cristian Felix NYU Polytechnic School of Engineering, USA
Paolo Federico Nokia, Finland
Nivan Ferreira Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil
Siwei Fu IBM Research-Almaden, USA
Mohammad Ghoneim Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology, Luxembourg
Christina Gillmann Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Germany
Florian Heimerl University of Wisconsin - Madison, USA
Yifan Hu Yahoo Labs, USA
Takayuki Itoh Ochanomizu University, Japan
Stefan Jänicke University of Leipzig, Germany
Karsten Klein University of Konstanz, Germany
Søren Knudsen University of Calgary, Canada
Marcos Lage Fluminense Federal University, Brazil
Heidi Lam Tableau Research, USA
Quan Li WeBank, China
Shusen Liu Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Yafeng Lu Arizona State University, USA
Justin Matejka Autodesk Research, USA
Elisabeta Marai University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
Fabio Miranda New York University, USA
Deokgun Park University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Fernando V. Paulovich Dalhousie University, Canada
Charles Perin University of Victoria, Canada
Bruno Pinaud Université de Bordeaux, France
Kristi Potter National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA
Fateme Rajabiyazdi McGill University, Canada
Alejandro Ribes Électricité de France, France
Bernice Rogowitz Columbia University, USA
Alper Sarikaya Microsoft, USA
Ali Sarvghad University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA
Brian Summa Tulane University, USA
Guodao Sun Zhejiang University of Technology, China
Alexandru Telea University of Groningen, Netherlands
Cagatay Turkay University of London, UK
Paola Valdivia Inria, France
Huy Vo New York University, USA
Xiting Wang Microsoft Research Asia, China
Yunhai Wang Shandong University, China
Yanhong Wu Visa Research, USA
Cong Xie Facebook, USA
Hongfeng Yu University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
Dirk Zeckzer University of Leipzig, Germany
Jiawan Zhang Tianjin University, China
Ye Zhao Kent State University, USA
Ying Zhao Central South University, China

Vis Short Paper Co-Chairs:

  • Roxana Bujack, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
  • Fanny Chevalier, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Luis Gustavo Nonato, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Jing Yang, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA